By Assistant Chief Jerry Dorsey
June 19, 2014

Read Message from FF Dave Smith.

was in ocean city to visit the convention center tuesday morning and was approached by Smiley White he told me that United Steam Fire Engine Company #3 received the Zembauer Award for the most hours in training hours it was 132.1 hours congrats to those members who keep on training.


The Zembower Fire Service Training Award was established in 1976 by Mr. & Mrs. Bruce Zembower in memory of his late parents, Mr. & Mrs. Cromwell Zembower of LaVale, and accepted by the Executive Committee. Cromwell Zembower was a Past President of the MSFA and a member of the Training Committee for many years. The Zembower Fire Service Training Award is based on the average number of formal training hours per active member for fire and rescue training completed in the fiscal year prior to the award. The original award was based solely on the formal training offered by MFRI, however, in 1995 the award will be based on formal training offered by other recognized agencies.

The award consists of a trophy which is presented to the winning department at the MSFA Annual Convention. The department is permitted to display the trophy until the next convention. The trophy is then to be returned for presentation to the next recipient. The department surrendering the trophy is then presented with a plaque for permanent display. First and second runner-up awards are also presented. The first runner-up award is sponsored by the Daniel J. and Bobbi Stevens in honor of former Bay District VFD Treasurer Bob Stevens. The second runner-up award is sponsored by the Earleigh Heights Volunteer Fire Company in honor of former Chief Herman Dill.